Active Choice Card

Winners revealed at Pride of Tameside Sports Awards

This year’s Pride of Tameside Sports Awards winners were finally revealed at Dukinfield Town Hall on Friday evening (28th September). The sold out event was opened by the Civic Mayor of Tameside, Councillor Denise Ward, with special guest speaker, professional boxer and commonwealth title holder Stacey Copeland from Hyde.

The event celebrated the dedication, motivation and passion of sports coaches, volunteers, schools and clubs in Tameside, as well as the hard work and achievements of Tameside’s sportsmen and women. A record number of nominations were received for this year’s awards, which reflects the wealth and depth of people involved in sport in Tameside.

2018 Pride of Tameside Sports AwardsAward winners

  • Coach of the Year – Steve Bates (Mossley AFC Running Club).
  • Sports Achiever of the Year – Max Charlett (fencing).
  • Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year – Katie Toft (para-cycling).
  • Alex Williams Volunteer of the Year – Adam Hawley (Denton Saint Lawrence Cricket Club).
  • Unsung Hero of the Year – Yvonne Kelley (posthumous).
  • Club of the Year – Dom Doyle F.C.
  • Changing Lifestyle Special Recognition Award – Gary Minister.
  • The School Commitment to PE and Sport Award – Russell Scott Primary School.

A special award was also presented by the Believe and Achieve Trust, which went to Lucas Rhodes (aged 8 years, for raising awareness of, and funds for, meningitis). A raffle, with a long list of great prizes donated by the event’s sponsors, also took place on the night, with proceeds going to the Believe and Achieve Trust.

The event was kindly sponsored by New Charter Homes Limited, Manchester Airport, Tameside Council, Pulse Energy, Myson, Legend, The Wilkes Group, MID Communications, Belle Vue Coaches, Davies Sports and Active Tameside.

View our official photos from the event on Facebook here.

Post Tags:

Posted In: Awards

Our Awards

Active Tameside

Active Tameside